PDA

View Full Version : A new low


fishenthusiast
Mar 1st 2007, 06:13 PM
I don't know about you, but I get spoof emails all the time from PayPaI Inc. (note the I), Ebay etc... Anyway, I was reading one today and I couldn't believe what I saw. BTW, this is a common email I receive, usually it goes to my junk mail folder, but somehow this one slipped through the cracks.


http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/logos/ebay_95x39.gifeBay sent this message.
Your registered name is included to show this message originated from eBay. Learn more (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/name-userid-emails.html',1);). http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/globalAssets/ltCurve.gifQuestion about Item -- Respond Now

http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/globalAssets/rtCurve.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifeBay sent this message on behalf of an eBay member through My Messages. Responses sent using email will go to the eBay member directly and will include your email address. http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif Question from bluebellvuehttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifbluebellvue (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback%26amp;userid%3dbluebell vue%26amp;sspagename%3dADME:B:AAQ:US:2',1);)( 689 (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://feedback.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback%26amp;userid%3dbluebell vue',1);))http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifPositive feedback:100%http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifMember since:May-25-05http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifLocation:NC, United Stateshttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifRegistered on:www.ebay.comhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifItem:(250026510836 (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignInMCAlert%26ru%3dhttp://1040388040:82/ebay.com/reg.php',1);)) This message was sent while the listing was active.bluebellvue is a potential buyer.http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifI think this is exactly what we are looking for.. our school needs but our budget is small..any info you could provide on this would be so helpful We need to try to find out about it ASAP- as your auction ends tomorrow. thanks-

Francisc Barett
Respond to this questionhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/buttons/btnRespondNow.gif (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignInMCAlert%26ru%3dhttp://1040388040:82/ebay.com/reg.php',1);)http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifResponses in My Messages will not include your email address.Thank you,
eBayhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifDetails for item number: 250026510836Item URL:http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200023943812&sspagename=ADME:B:AAQ:US:1 (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignInMCAlert%26ru%3dhttp://1040388040:82/ebay.com/reg.php',1);)End date:Oct-25-06 16:36:44 PDT http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/securityCenter/imgShield_25x25.gifMarketplace Safety Tip (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter',1);) http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/securityCenter/imgTabCorner_25x25.gifAlways remember to complete your transactions on eBay - it's the safer way to trade.

Is this message an offer to buy your item directly through email without winning the item on eBay? If so, please help make the eBay marketplace safer by reporting it to us. These "outside of eBay" transactions may be unsafe and are against eBay policy. Learn more about trading safely (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/securitycenter/selling_safely.html',1);). http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifIs this email inappropriate? Does it violate eBay policy (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/rfe-unwelcome-email-misuse.html',1);)? Help protect the Community by reporting it (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://cgi1.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ReportEmailAbuseshow%26amp;reporteru serid%3dazntiger986%26amp;reporteduserid%3dbluebel lvue%26amp;emaildate%3d2006/08/21:19:04:54%26amp;emailtype%3d0%26amp;emailtext%3d Hello%2bmy%2bname%2bVictor%2band%2bI%2bwould%2blik e%2b%2bto%2bbe%2bpre-approved%2blist%2bIm%2bveryinterested%2bin%2bpurch asing%2bthe%2bitem%2blisted.%250D%250A%250D%250AVi ctor%26amp;trackId%3d2771567216',1);). http://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gifhttp://pics.ebaystatic.com/aw/pics/s.gif

Learn how you can protect yourself from spoof (fake) emails at:
http://pages.ebay.com/education/spooftutorial (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com',1);)

This eBay notice was sent to you on behalf of another eBay member through the eBay platform and in accordance with our Privacy Policy. If you would like to receive this email in text format, change your notification preferences (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://cgi4.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?OptinLoginShow',1);).

See our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have questions about eBay's communication policies.
Privacy Policy: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/privacy-policy.html (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/privacy-policy.html',1);)
User Agreement: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html (http://javascript<b></b>:dl('http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html',1);)

Copyright © 2006 eBay, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of eBay, Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.


I know this is a spoof email because I don't sell on Ebay and hotmail warned me that it couldn't verify the senders identity, and when I have received emails from Ebay in the past I didn't receive that warning. It looks completely authentic though and if I was selling I might just click one of the many links in the email.

The ones I get from PayPaI look authentic too. I once clicked on the link and entered information that was obviously false. Most of which I can't reprint here because this is a family site. The jist was I am not an idiot so stop sending me these emails. Funnily enough I stopped getting them for a while :laugh:.

Be aware if you do sell on Ebay, this is a clever scheme.

jones
Mar 1st 2007, 06:17 PM
i had a buddy that worked at ebay, he said they would get scams like that all the time poppin up...

its pretty oviouse to spot out thou...

AKA, if its too good to be true... hahah

fishenthusiast
Mar 1st 2007, 06:44 PM
Exactly....

I just noticed that was my 100th post. Finally not a junior member anymore! YaY!

Melody
Mar 1st 2007, 08:55 PM
LOL Congrat's Ms. FishEnthusiast!

Thanks for posting the warning. The best way to fight these scams is to educate the public.

I haven't used Hotmail in a long time, but kudos to them for doing something useful to fight spam/scams. Most ISP's just block the domain it comes from. The problem is any person with half a brain wouldn't send spam from a bonified e-mail account, and certainly not from their website domain as they'd lose their hosting. But the ISP's can then tell the public they're doing something.:rolleyes:

Fugu
Mar 1st 2007, 09:54 PM
I got the exact same thing.

marked as spam.



Ime watin for the big 200

fishenthusiast
Mar 1st 2007, 11:07 PM
I actually rarely use hotmail too. I use it mainly to sign up to forums and on occasion an old friend or two will email me there. They are the only reason I keep the account active. I use my work email address for almost everything else, mainly because I actually check that one daily.

Melody
Mar 2nd 2007, 12:35 AM
I had to have an account when I worked at Microsoft. I also use it for MSNIM. Its a good web-based e-mail, very feature rich.